Hierarch of Siam 3 (Islam in Thailand)



Sheikh Ahmed Qomi promoted as Sheikh al Islam, and supervisor of all trade in Thailand, then he married to a girl of tribe Jam, this tribe was Cambodian Muslims who migrated from there to Thailand. After marriage with Muslim girl of that tribe he got three kids, two sons and one daughter, one son died while he was young due to a disease. Japan's traders and Prime Minister of King revolted against king but Sheikh Qomi did her best to defend king and finished the rebellion. This was main cause that King posted him as Prime Minister and than he became Sheikh al Islam who was representative of Muslims in Thailand, not only for Shiites but for all Muslims. He was also working was Foreign Minister, Interior Minister, Commander In Chief and leader of Muslims in Thailand.

Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Qajar Bathroom



Qajar Bath room is also known as Qajar Hamam in Qazwin Iran. It was constructed during Safavid Era and till operational at present because Municipality of city and Culture Department purchased it and financed again to make it attractive for people and lovers of history, art and design. It was also called Royal Bathroom and was used by royal people. Its width is 1045 square meters. It has three main sections i.e. hothouse, central section and Sarbineh with separate sections for giant and ladies. Its gate is in South. Now it is museum for public and managed by Redevelopment of Heritage Department of Province. 
قجر حمام ایران کے صوبے قزوین میں واقع ہے جسے صفوی دور میں تعمیرکیاگیاتھا۔ اسکی وسعت اک ہزار پنتالیس مربع میٹر ہے۔ اس کے تین مرکزی حصے ہیں جنہیں سربینہ، مرکزی حصہ اور گرمخانہ کہاجاتاہے۔ عورتوں اور مردوں کیلئے الگ انتظام کیاگیاتھا۔ سال 2000میں قزوین صوبے کے شعبہءآثارقدیمہ اور بلدیہ نے اس عمارت کو خریدااور یہاں سرمایہ کاری کرکے اسے اصلی حالت پر بحال کرکے اسے عوام الناس کیلئے عجائب گھر میں تبدیل کردیا۔ آثارقدیمہ، ہنر، نمونوں اور تاریخ کے دلدادہ اس عمارت کے نظارے سے لطف اندوز ہوتے ہیں۔


Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Forty Columns Pavilion



This building is forty column building constructed in center of a part at far end of a long water pool. Shah Abbas 2 ordered to build it for his entertainment and receptions. Shah Abbas and his successors would meet with ambassadors and receive dignitaries in stately halls or on a terrace. Its name was forty (Chehel Sotoun or Chihil Sutun or Chehel Sotoon چهل ستون‎, literally , Forty Columns) columns or pillars because of twenty slender wooden columns supporting entrance pavilion when these columns reflect in water of fountains it is said thse columns appear to be forty. Its also mentioned in history that when this building was completed then welcome extended to the Mughal King Hamayion who too refuge to Iran from India.

Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Bridge of 33 Arches



Bridge of 33 Arches also called Siosepol or Seosi Bridge or 33 Bridge. It is also known as Allah Verdi Khan Bridge or Allah Wirdi Khan Pul in Isfahan, Iran. It is one of the 11 bridges of Isfahan, Iran. Its length on
Zayandeh River is 297.7 and its width is 13.75 meters, it is most famous example Safavid Bridges Design. It was constructed under supervision of General Allah Verdi Khan with his money during the time of Shah Abbas 1, a Safavid king. From either sides this bridge consists of 33 Arches in left and right side.the name for the bridge includes (the bridge of 33 springs)(the bridge of chaharbagh), and finally (zayandeh river bridge).Allah Verdi Khan was an Iranian general and a statesman Georgian origin who was basically a military slave became to highest officer in Safavid era.


Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Green Dome in Hamedan



Alavid Dome is also known as Gunbad E Alavian or Tomb of Alavian or Mosque of Alavian located in Hamedan, Iran. We know why its name is related to Alavid because two family members of Alavi family are buried here in Saljuq period. On the other hand, the great attachment of the people to "Sadat" (descendents of the prophet MohammadPBUH) and their belief in Imam Ali (P.B.U.H.) are the other reasons. Its structure is four sided and worked artistically with plaster. On the exterior, it resembles the Gonbad-e Sorkh of Maragheh. The tombs are situated under the domed ceiling of the cellar and worked in blue tiles. The entrance to this dome is also much attractive. It was also called Green Dome referred by a poet Khaqani.Unfortunately, the identities of the persons who have been buried there arc not clear. This monument IS one of the post-Islamic masterpieces of architecture and Stucco in Hamedan. It has been registered as an Iranian National and Historical monument No 93, dated 1931.1.4.


Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Sheraz Glory of Iran



The first Capital of Fars, some 2500 years ago, was Pasargad. It was also the capital of Achaemenid King Cyrus the Great. The ceremonial capital of his successor, Darius I (or Darius the Great), and his son Xerxes, was Persepolis. Today, only the ruins of these two capitals remain. Stakhr was another capital of Fars. It was established by the Sassanids and lasted until Shiraz finally assumed the role of the regional capital.About 50 km. Northwest of Shiraz, at the foot of the rahmat Mountains, one encounters the vast platform and remains of Persepolis, the grand ceremonial Capital built by Darius I (Darius the Great) and his successors some 2500 years ago. Archeologists are still combing through the debris and ashes that have covered Persepolis since Alexander the Great destroyed it in 330 BC. Most of the structures have already been revealed. Pasargad is located about 77 km away from Persepolis. It was built by Cyrus the Great. Among the interesting sites at Pasargad is a stone platform 80 m. long and 18 m. wide. It is believed to have been the foundation of a palace. Close by are the ruins of a building called the Prison of Solomon which was probably a fire temple.

Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


World Heritage Persepolis



Persepolis is an ancient city located in Iran, the meanings of Persepolis are City of Persians, also known as Parsagade or Pasargadae in Persian language. It was the capital of Achaemenid  Kings. Parsa was constructed in 512 BCE under the rule of King Darius the Great who made it the capital or Persian Empire instead of Pasargadae the old capital and burial place of Cyrus the Great. Due to its remote location in mountains as well as travel to Parsa was impossible in rainy winter when paths become mud, the city could only be used in summer and warmer season. In this city many Royal buildings were constructed in this city and in modern Persian it is known as Takht E Jamshid (The Throne of Jamshid), Chehel Minar (The Forty Columns or Minarets). The most important building in all these buildings is Tomb of Cyrus or Burial Place of Cyrus (The Great). Persepolis is located in Sheraaz , Iran the world heritage site. The burial space has six broad steps towards sepulcher, the chamber has low and narrow entrance It is said that when Arabs (Muslims) conquered Iran, they went to tomb and planned to destroy it as violations of tenets of Islam, but caretakers of tomb made two meetings with Arabs and convinced the Arab commander that grave was not of Cyrus but the grave of Mother of Prophet Solomon a.s, so they avoided to destroy it but inscriptions were replaced with verses of Quran and today its widely known as the tomb of mother of Solomon. It is also said that the tomb is oldest isolated structure in the world.


Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Treasure Deed of Hamedan



Treasure Epistle is an ancient inscription located in Hamedan city of Iran near about 5 KM of southwest. The inscription is carved in granite in two sections. Left sided inscription was composed by orders of Darius the Great and right sided inscription was composed by Xerxes the Great. These two sections were composed in three different languages as Old Persian, Neo Babylonian and Neo Elamite.In start praise of God (Ahura and Mazda) has scripted and then lineage and deeds of mentioned kings has been described. When next generation failed to read these inscription then they assumed that these inscriptions are guide towards an unrevealed treasure or uncovered treasury so they started to say it Ganjnameh (Treasure Epistle) even many times they also called it Jangnameh meaning War Epistle. Now these inscription has been translated and two new carved tablets have been placed in parking of site with English and Persian translation of these Cuneiform inscription.

Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Naqsh-e Jahan Square



Naqsh E Jahan Square commonly known as Shah Square or Shah Medan in Isfahan, Iran. It is located in center of Isfahan and was constructed during 1598 and 1629. Its width is 160 by 508 meters and known as one of widest square in the world , it has most importance in historical sites, it was used for Horse Hockey game in past. This square is surrounded by buildings which were built up during Safavid era. Most important historical buildings have been constructed around it as in South side The Shah Mosque, in West Side The Ali Qapu Palace, in East Sheikh Lotf Allah Mosque have been constructed while its North side opens into Grand Bazaar of Isfahan. Before Safavid rule this square was a garden. now and then the square would be cleared off for public ceremonies and festivities.People of Iran enjoy by celebrating New Year (Nau Rooz) in this square, Shah provide people facility to play Polo in this square even two goal posts still stands in this square which were erected by orders of Shah.Shah residing in Ali Qapu Palace and see the shopkeepers busy in trade as 200 shops with double story were built for business. In these days Friday Prayer is held in the Shah Mosque.Also known as Maidan or Royal Square.


Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Mausoleum of Hamdollah Mostowfi



Imamzadeh Abdollah in Farsajinwas a Persian epic poet, geographer, historian , writer and Scholar in 8th century. He penned down many books including Tarikh Gazeda, Nazhat ul Qaloob and Zafar Nama etc. He did work for History writing , he wrote about history of Tabriz as before arrival of Mangols people of that city usually speak Persian Pahalavi and during the Illuminate era they started to speak  Adhari Turkish. He also mentioned that people of Ardabil , Maragha and Zanjan had their own Persian dialects.The main part is octangular that the dome is placed on it with the height of 3m and a conic dome is above of it.the shrine is located on the edge of Farsjin and it is a work of 6th century.


Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


The Persian Garden Dolat Abad



Yazd is capital of Yazd province which is located in eastern Isfahan, Iran. The most popular and important place in this city is Daulat Abad Garden or Dolat Abad Garden was built and designed in Zand era. This garden contains many and beautiful halls , carving doors in each room and unique artwork. Main doors is made by glasses and through which a mesmerizing view of the garden and the courtyard can be viewed.The most important thing in this garden and building is a 33 meters high wind catcher tower which easily can cath and supply cool and fresh air to all its rooms.Dolat Abad Garden is among the 9 Iranian Gardens which are collectively registered as one of the Iran’s 16 registered World Heritage Sites under the name of the Persian Garden.

Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Burial Site of Sons of Musa Kazim



Building known as Shah Cheragh has an importance in pilgrimage by Muslims, located in Shiraz , Iran. This building is housing by two tombs of Ahmad and Muhammad who are sons of Imam Musa Al Kazim and brothers of Imam al Reza a.s, both, Ahmad and Muhammad, took refuge to the city Sheraz during Abbasid persecution of Shiites. The word Shah Cheragh is a combination of two Persian words and the meaning of it is King of Light, this tomb became popular when a queen the Lady Tashi ordered to erect a theological school and mosque there. The person who discovered this place was Ayatullah Dastghā'ib (the great grandfather of the contemporary Ayatullah Dastghā'ib), he saw a light on that place from a distance and decided to investigate, he saw this light was emitted by a grave so when that emitted grave was excavated then a body wearing armor was discovered with a ring in his finger written on that ring as "The Pride belongs to God, Ahmad son of Musa". Thus it became known that this was the burial site of the sons of Musa Kazim.


Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Baba Tahir Oryan Hamadani



Baba Taher Oryan Hamadani was an Iranian Persian Language poet  and mystic in 11th century with certainty not much known, no one knows about date of birth and death of Baba Tahir, but in one source it is indicated that he died in 1019 CE, if its is true then Baba Taher was contemporary of Ferdowsi and Abu Ali Sina (Avicenna) and an immediate precursor of Omar Khayyam.He died in age of 75 years, it is said. He belonged to an Islamic Sect knows as Ahl E Haq (Followers of Truth) even his sister Bibi Fatima was equally respected by same community. His popular name Oryan means ‘‘The Naked’‘; he was a dervish or inspired beggar. The quatrains (dubeyti or two -beyt metre poems) of Baba Taher are written in local accents such as Mazandarani. They say Pehleviat to these kinds of poems and they are very ancient. Baba Taher songs originally read in Fahlavi, Luri, Kurdish and Hamadani dialects, taking their present form in the course of time. The quatrains of Baba Taher have a more amorous and mystical connotation rather than philosophical.His tomb is located near northern entrance of Hamadan city surrounded by flowers and winding paths, its building structure has twelve external pillars and there is also a tower among these pillars, this tomb was reconstructed in 1970.On 11 May 1997 this building was listed in list of Iranian National Historical Buildings. Iranian administration in this city made a big stones on which poetry of Baba Tahir is written in pretty style and those stones walls are installed around grave of Baba Taher in this tomb.
Also Visit  Islamic Historical Buildings and French Painter and Iran 1 (Ozen Flanden)
Watch Video about Baba Tahir Hamadani

Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


Qurban Dome (Iran-Hamadan)



Qurban Dome (also known as Borj E Qorban or Qurban Menar) is located in eastern Hamadan of Iran. This is a twelve sided brick tower and a place of pilgrimage. It is said to contain the grave of Hafez Abol Ala of Hamadan ( 12th century AD). The tombstone inside the dome is from the Safavid period, but the building itself with its pyramidal cupola cannot be attributed to periods later than the 13th century.Apparently, there is no relation between the tombstone and the main building that is a plain brick structure without any inscriptions. stuccoes and adornments.here below video has an Urdu introduction and description of this historical building in Iran and in 1976 this tower was listed in list of Iranian National Historical Heritage.

Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


French Painter and Iran 6 (Ozen Flanden)



Persepolis,Iran
The site's Iranian name is Takht-e-Jamshid, "The throne of Jamshid", a mythical King of Iran. The ancient name is "Parsa", "Pars's Town". Provincial of Fars. Altitude 1,800 meters, 60 km N-E of Shiraz on an excellent road, 420 km S of Esfahan on a good road. International airport at Shiraz. National airport at Persepolis.
A large bare plain, surrounded by mauve cliffs with sharp edges. It is there, in the center of the Marv Dasht basin, that Cyrus the Great chose, toward the end of the his reign, to build under the shelter of a fold in the mountains, a palace worthy of the Empire. It was named Parsa, but later under subsequent Greek influence became known as Persepolis, "The city of the Persians".
You go to Pasargarde to contemplate, in the solitude of Land deserted for the past two thousand years, the tomb of Cyrus, the founder of an Empire. But you first go through Naqsh-e-Rostam is a sort of "Valley of Kings", dominated by tall ochre-colored cliffs, cracked and wrinkled by the wind with half-way up, the cross-shaped cavities of the tombs cut right into the stone.
Without going into detail the following excursion site are worthy of mentions: Bishahpur(140 km to the West on the Ahvaz road), a large archaeological site in gorgeous mountain setting, with the remnants of the palace of the Sassanid King Shahpur (241-272 A.D.), the Qalaeh-ye Dokhtar Gorges, controlled by an impressive system of fortifications erected in the 10th and 11th centuries (near Firouzabad, 110km South of Shiraz); other Sassanid fortresses near Fasa (170 km to the S-E); farther on the same road, in the direction of Darab (280 km of Shiraz) fortified enclosures, bas reliefs and at Darab proper, a que, cross-shaped mosque hewn out of the rock.
The many buildings which make up Persepolis are on an artificial terrace about 300 metres long and 450 meters wide, between 10 and 20 meters above ground-level. You reach the terrace by a monumental double staircase.
The gaunt beauty of the Mountains, the immense landscape, the deep silence which pervades, the site remote from any village, are appropriate for the sacred character of this necropolis sheltering the tombs of the main Achaemenian Sovereigns (Cyrus lies in solitude at Pasargadae). From right to left, the tombs are those of Xerxes, Darius the Great Artaxerxes I and Darius II. Darius the Great's Tomb is larger than the others.
Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


French Painter and Iran 5 (Ozen Flanden)



Zayandeh River is the largest river on the central plateau of Iran in Isfahan Province, flowing from west to east, and the most well known river of Iran after Karoon. It has come to be known by this name as a result of the many fields it irrigates on its course and thus brings them to life (for this reason it was formerly known as Zendehrood). Zayandeh River starts in the Zagros Mountains, from a natural pool known as Janan Spring, and travels 400 kilometers eastward before ending in the Gavkhouni swamp, a seasonal salt lake, southeast of Isfahan city. The Zayandeh has significant flow all year long, unlike many of Iran's rivers which are seasonal. The Zayandeh is spanned by many historical Safavid era bridges, and flows through many parks.
Zayandeh River crosses the city of Isfahan, a major cultural and economic center of Iran. In the 17th century, Shaikh Bahai, an influential scholar and adviser to Safavid dynasty, designed and built a system of canals to distribute Zayandeh River water to Isfahan's suburbs. Water from the Zayandeh River helped the growth of the population and the economy, helped established Isfahan as an influential center, and gave a green landscape to Isfahan, a city in the middle of a desert.
Built by Shah Abbas II on the foundations of an older bridge, the Khwaju bridge links the Khwaju quarter on the north bank with the Zoroastrian quarter across the Zayandeh River. It also functions as a weir; the downstream side is formed as a series of steps carrying the water to a much lower level.
On the upper level of the bridge the main central aisle was utilized by horses and carts and the vaulted paths on either side by pedestrians. Octagonal pavilions in the center of the bridge on both the down and the upstream sides provide vantage points for the remarkable views. The lower level of the bridge may be accessed by pedestrians and remains a popular shady place for relaxing.
Khaju Bridge - Built in 1650, it is as well known as 33 Pol. It was frequently deorated and used for various celebrations.
33 Pol - Built in 1632 it is the longest, and one of the most famous bridges of Zayandeh River. It is also knows as Alahverdi Khan Bridge. Throughout history traditional Abrizan festivities took place at this bridge.
Choobi (Joui) Bridge – Believed to have been built in the 17th century, it used to be an exclusively utilized bridge connecting Haft Dast Building to Sa’adat Abad Garden.
video
French Painter and Iran 1 (Ozen Flanden)
French Painter and Iran 2 (Ozen Flanden) 

French Painter and Iran 3 (Ozen Flanden) 

French Painter and Iran 4 (Ozen Flanden)

French Painter and Iran 5 (Ozen Flanden)
 
Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


French Painter and Iran 4 (Ozen Flanden)



Caravanserais, (Inn) ancient Iranian Hotel
For hundreds of years Persians accommodated foreign and domestic merchants and pilgrims at elaborate hotels called caravanserai, which were built along roads and in cities.
The word caravanserai is a combination of caravan and the Persian word sara, which means dwelling, palace, or enclosed courts.
The development of Iran's road system, increased export to Europe, China and India, which in turn gave rise to the need for more trade routes and roadside caravanserais.
Caravanserais also facilitated the flow of commerce and information across the Silk Road and other trade routes running through Asia, North Africa, and South-eastern Europe.
Apart from the numerous roadside caravanserais, there were also many city caravanserais where travelers could rest and recover from the day's journey.
City Caravanserais also served as marketplaces, an example of which can be seen around Isfahan's Naqsh-e-Jahan Square. Some continue their commercial activities to this day.
Although geographical location played an important role in the appearance of caravanserais, they were mainly multi-roomed structures elaborately decorated with breathtaking tile works.
Most caravanserais were square or rectangular buildings with a single tall wide gate, which allowed the entrance of heavily laden camels and other animals.
The open-roofed courtyard of the structure was surrounded by chambers, stalls and storage bays to accommodate travelers along with their servants, animals, and merchandise.
Some caravanserais had elaborate baths where travelers could wash away the dust from the road.
Merchants could feed their mounts, sell their products and stock up on supplies for the rest of their journey.
The Achaemenid kings were the first to build caravanserais for foreign merchants traveling the 2500-kilometer distance between the cities of Susa and Sard.
Parthians continued the tradition by constructing similar buildings along the Silk Road to serve travelers on their way to China and the Mediterranean Sea.
Caravanserais flourished during the Safavid era when Iran 's economy was at its peak and newly constructed roads, connecting the eastern and western parts of the country, attracted a large number of pilgrims to visit religious sites especially Imam Reza's shrine in Mashhad.
Today, many of the old Iranian caravanserais have been restored, some have been converted into modern hotels as is the case of the Shah Abbas caravanserai in Isfahan.
The Pigeon Towers of Isfahan

One of Iran’s unique secular architectural structures is the pigeon tower (also called pigeon house and dovecote), which occur in relatively large numbers in and around Isfahan (Esfahan), one of the oldest cities in Iran. (1) The construction of the Iranian pigeon towers dates to the Safavid period (1502-1736 AD). Some are in excellent repair and are still in use, others are degrading rapidly, and most have rejoined the earth. Persian farmers built pigeon towers to attract Persian wild pigeons whose dung they harvested each year to fertilize melon fields and to soften leather in Isfahan’s famed tanneries (guano is acidic). “The notion of towers acting as natural collection points for waste that is subsequently used as fertilizer epitomizes humans working with nature in a common alliance,” avers Aryan Amirkahni.
Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


French Painter and Iran 3 (Ozen Flanden)



Vank Cathedral The Church of the Saintly Sisters Vank Church
Vank Cathedral was one of the first churches to be established in the city's Jolfa district by Armenian immigrants settled by Shah Abbas I after the Ottoman War of 1603-1605. The varying fortunes and independence of this suburb across the Zayandeh River and its eclectic mix of European missionaries, mercenaries and travelers can be traced almost chronologically in the cathedral's combination of building styles and contrasts in its external and internal architectural treatment.
Construction is believed to have begun in 1606, and completed with major alterations to design between 1655 and 1664 under the supervision of Archbishop David. The cathedral consists of a domed sanctuary, much like a Persian mosque, but with the significant addition of a semi-octagonal apse and raised chancel usually seen in western churches. The cathedral's exteriors are in relatively modern brickwork and are exceptionally plain compared to its elaborately decorated interior.
The interior is covered with fine paintings and gilded carvings and includes a wainscot of rich tile work. The delicately blue and gold painted central dome depicts the Biblical story of creation of the world and man's expulsion from Eden. Pendentives throughout the church are painted with a distinctly Armenian motif of a cherub's head surrounded by folded wings. The ceiling above the entrance is painted with delicate floral motifs in the style of Persian miniature. Two sections, or bands, of murals run around the interior walls: the top section depicts events from the life of Jesus, while the bottom section depicts tortures inflicted upon Armenian martyrs by the Ottoman Empire.
The courtyard contains a large freestanding belfry towering over the graves of both Orthodox and Protestant Christians. A tile work plaque inscribed in Armenian can be seen by the entrance to the cathedral; graves are also placed along the exterior wall before the entrance, with inscriptions in Armenian. In one corner of the courtyard is a raised area with a memorial to the 1915 Armenian Genocide in Turkey. Across the courtyard and facing the cathedral is a building housing a library and museum; outside of this building are several carved stones showing scenes from the Bible
Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


French Painter and Iran 2 (Ozen Flanden)



Ali Qapu Palace (early 17th century onward)
The Ali Qapu Palace stands on the west side of the maidan (the great quadrangle at the center of Esfahan). Meaning 'Sublime Portal' or 'Lofty Gate', it served as the entryway to the vast complex of royal gardens stretching north-south along the Chahar Bagh boulevard. Originally it was not connected to the arcades built around the maidan from 1590-95, but in the manner of many Safavid buildings, the plan was modified as the need arose, and the eastern facade of the building was extended to allow it to open directly onto the west side of the square. From the elevated talar, or portico, the Shah and his rentinue could observe activities in the square. When the occasion demanded, the party could retire to the splendidly embelished interior housing seven distinct floors.
The interior is covered with paintings attributed to Reza Abbassi, the court painter of Shah Abbas I. He and his pupils created naturalistic scenes which included depictions of human and animal forms--subjects usually proscribed in Islamic art, but commonly rendered during the Safavid era with its rich tradition of Persian miniature painting.
It is worth comparing this building to the Chehel Soutoun pavilion, which is roughly contemporary. Both buildings make use of the talar portico and were used for receptions and entertainment.
Madrasa-yi Masjid-i Shah Sultan Hussein
More than a century after the death of Shah Abbas I, the impetus given to architecture by him in Isfahan gave rise to this magnificent Theological college built by his pious but ineffectual descendent, Shah Sultan Hussein. The complex consists of a theological college, whose dome is visible in this picture, a bazaar and a caravanserai which has now been re-constituted as the Shah Abbas Hotel. The college is normally closed to all visitors.
The main entrance is directly off Chahar Bagh, the main avenue, through a splendid octagonal vestibule which has beautiful yet simple tilework in the roof. Here there is a fine font and the visitor looks out over the garden which forms the centre of the complex. The eivan itself is impressive yet restful. The monumental nature of the Kufic inscriptions on the tower and the base of the dome is softened by the garden across which it is vieiwed.
The College is still used as such today, which is one reason it is normally closed to visitors. It has been said that this was the last great building to be erected in Isfahan, certainly it shows all the vigour and imagination of the earlier architecture without incorporating external influences.
video
French Painter and Iran 1 (Ozen Flanden)
French Painter and Iran 2 (Ozen Flanden) 

French Painter and Iran 3 (Ozen Flanden) 

French Painter and Iran 4 (Ozen Flanden)

French Painter and Iran 5 (Ozen Flanden)
  
Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments


French Painter and Iran 1 (Ozen Flanden)



Ganjnameh, in the distance of 5 Kills southwest of Hamedan, is located all one of the Mount Alvand foothills, in the pleasant valley of Abas Abad. Near Ganjnamch, one can see a beautiful view of Ganjnameh waterfall, pleasant and green valleys of Abbas Abad, Tarik Darrell, and Kivarestan. In addition. Tarik Darreh is divided into two branches: easterly, ski establishment and westerly on the Garlook pass the new road and the old cart track cut each other. This valley in Achaemenid period was on the beginning of the Hegmataneh ¬Estakhr road which was known as Imperial Rout and connected Hegmataneh nlong Tarik Darreh. Garlook valley, Vardavard 0liya Shahrestaneh, Oshtoran, Tuyserkan.,Nahavand, Kermanshah, Lorestan, Persepolise to Fars.
In addition, it was the road which connects Hamedan to the west and east of the country and Mesopotamia in Iraq. Since ancient Hegmataneh was the Achaemenid summer capital and located along the Imperial Route, Darius the first after engraving the Bistun Inscription ordered to encrave another inscriptions in Ganjnameh. Then his son Xerxes engraved another one on the right side and a little lower than his falher's inscription (about 500 BC).
Each of these inscriptions was engraved in three languages, three columns, and twenty lines. The first left column in Old Persian, the middle one in Elamite or Susian and on the right side in Babylon or Akkadian and all were written in cuneiform alphabet. The first word of the column is "bagn" that means God. In contemporary history many Orientalists intended to decode the inscriptions such as Ozen Flanden, French archeologist and
Pascal Cast his assistant (1840- I 841 AD). At last Sir Henry Rovilnson - an English scientist, deciphered it and the people belief that these inscriptions are hidden treasures written codes was interpreted. The following is the Darius inscriptio1ltranslation in English:
" A great god is Ahuramazda, who created this earth, who created yonder sky, who created man, who created happiness for man, who made Darius king, one king of many, one lord of many.
I am Darius the Great King, King of Kings, King of countries containing all kinds of men, King in this great earth far and wide, son of Hystaspes, an Achamenian."
Both inscriptions have the same Content except the name Xerxes instead of Darius, Vishtasb instead of Darius and the phrase; "hyah maoistah baganam" which means; " who is the greatest God" in the Xerxes inscription. These inscriptions had different names. Ebn-e Faghih Hamedani in his book "Akhbar Oh-Soldan" called them "Tab Nabar." Their other names are "Sangnebeshteh, Nebesht Khodayan. Katibeh ha-ye Alvand. Jang Nameh and Ganjnameh, the two last ones have been used recenty. It is registered as a National and historical Iranian monument No. 92 dated 6.1.1931.
In 1995 the English and Persian translation of these Inscriptions have been engraved on two granite rocks by Hamedan municipal and they have been placed in the other part of Ganjnameh
Next Video | Add Comment | Related Videos | Go Up | Previous Video

Read More Add your Comment 0 comments